Jumping the gun?

So I’ve been going through the first course and I’m currently in the setting up Windows Server section. I was told to skip ahead to Module 9 to create a Virtual Lab using VirtualBox which I’ve done and is working fine far as I can tell. Going through the set up isn’t that hard when you can just watch a video and then do it on your lab. The issue I’m starting to have is that I have zero experience with IT and basically everything that comes with it. I’ve seen things like DHCP and Subnet Mask and DNS but I don’t have a clue what most of that means or what it is used for. On the section where we set up the IP address using the command prompt and the Ethernet properties I noticed that Default Gateway and DNS numbers weren’t the same and I didn’t show internet access down on the taskbar. I did the troubleshoot and it fixed it but now the Ethernet shows “assigned by DHCP”. It’s stuff like this that makes me think I am getting way ahead of myself. This all started because I wanted to get into the IT field and thought about getting some certifications and in trying to figure out which ones would go the furthest I noticed a lot of people saying they didn’t really matter. Others said the opposite. Typical internet stuff. It isn’t a new concept to be in the loop of not being able to get experience unless they hire you but wont hire you without experience. I saw a few job listings saying they preferred the person to have a working knowledge of Active Directory which led me here. I’m sure I can do the labs for it and get a feel for the program in its basic form but if that’s all I have to go by I’m not sure it will get me very far. I think I can troubleshoot hardware in a lot of situations which is a part of a entry level job like a help desk but not enough to get hired I’d say. To wrap up this winded diatribe I guess I’m just looking for any feedback anyone would like to give on how I should go about it and if I need to start somewhere else with some more basi