Gpupdate question to anyone

After doing the labs and watching videos, I was curious, well I have not come across this or I have missed it.

Is there away to push or force push a Group Policy Update to client computers ?
I read that the Group Policy will update when a user next logs in to the computer.

I was just thinking that it seems like a tedious process to keep doing if changes are made.

Slight reference, My last job I had before taking many years off to be a stay at home dad, was for a TV station, I was an assistant Network Admin, but our network was setup by the Master Electrician/Enterprise Admin, who was VERY on point about everything working and no errors.
So most of the time I spent in the server room, was related to either new user setups or backup management, Server installs or Fileserver management.
TV stations are crazy to Network professionals, We had around 30 subnets packed with servers and client and production systems. Apple networks and apple clients so on so forth.
and we also had windows systems that could not be updated had to stay windows 7 due to the software they ran and the issue it could cause.
Long story short in those 4 years I never had to do a gpupdate on any clients, around 120 total.
this was back in 2009-2013

sort of short are there ways to push things to clients or servers ?

Thanks and sorry if it got boring :slight_smile:

I was curious if this command would work ?, My lab setup is just an actual server with 25 cal 2019 server on it, sadly my laptop is ubuntu atm and that’s a nightmare trying to connect it to an AD domain. So all I have to work with is the server, my VMBox has Ubuntu server only atm, which sadly I am novice at best atm.

PowerShell command
PS C:> Invoke-GPUpdate -Computer “Exampledomain\Workstation 01” -Target “John.Doe”

Thanks in advance.

Hi @andrewfox.texas

The way we do it is with gpupdate /force to force a push to all computers.